Power & Source of Big Ideas

Wiring a relay and some sensors

Moderators: chensy, FATechsupport

Hi there,

newbie here - I have a NanoPi NEO Plus2 and would like to wire some (3 or 4) moisture sensor (model YL-69, with HC-38 modules) and then a 4-relay module. I have seen a few similar projects but my questions are:

• will I be able to read AO (analog output) from these sensors?
  • do I have enough pins on the headers to control 4 relays and receive input from the sensors, or I need some expansion?

Thanks!
gdm85 wrote:
Hi there,

newbie here - I have a NanoPi NEO Plus2 and would like to wire some (3 or 4) moisture sensor (model YL-69, with HC-38 modules) and then a 4-relay module. I have seen a few similar projects but my questions are:

• will I be able to read AO (analog output) from these sensors?
  • do I have enough pins on the headers to control 4 relays and receive input from the sensors, or I need some expansion?

Thanks!

- directly you can't read AO, but via some i2c module
- My latest project for driving relays https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxZ_FD5b5QQ - using nanopi m1 - neo plus 2 is the same, just not so many gpios. Just follow the docs: https://linux-sunxi.org/GPIO
- sensors via i2c. connect them, enable overlay (with armbian = armbian-config -> hardware -> enable i2c0 (or i2c1)

Than look out for libraries to drive those sensors ... some could already be supported directly by the kernel.
Thanks for your reply @igorp

Wow, that project is impressive! Lots of relays. Will watch the video later.

As for the library I was planning to use WiringPI since there's support for my device.

My problem is more on the pinout side: I cannot understand very well the pinout and/or what extra modules I should get.

The pinout is here: http://wiki.friendlyarm.com/wiki/index. ... _NEO_Plus2

All those that mention GPIO can be used as general I/O pins (aside from the other function mentioned)? They are identical for GPIO purposes?